UCLA » College » Social Sciences » Anthropology
Grad Students
  • Catherine Lee Alexander

    Organizations; institutions; corporate cultures; transactions costs; Relational Models Theory; Cultural (grid-group) Theory; Northern California; Silicon Valley

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology, Psychological and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    catherine.lee.alexander@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Steven Ammerman

    Contact Information

    Email    stevammer@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Farzad Amoozegar-Fassie

    Ethics and social suffering; trauma and children; violence and subjectivity; phenomenology of pain; Wittgenstein language theory; West Bank, Palestine

    Subfield: Psychological Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology. I am also a Ph.D. student in the Department of Ethnomusicology..

    Contact Information

    Email    farzad@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Theresa Arriola

    Militarization; colonialism; empire; indigenous Chamorro people; Mariana Islands; Pacific; Oceania

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    tarriola@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Yael Assor

    Anthropology of morality; care practices; medical policy; gender and women's studies; phenomenology; narrative

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology; Medical Anthropology; Psychological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    yaelassor@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Amanda Jean Bailey

    Narrative and healing; identity and place; urban indigenous communities; indigenous education; tribal colleges; North America; language revitalization; sign languages; gesture; visual anthropology

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    ajbailey@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Vincent M. Belletto

    Language and culture; language revitalization; language ideologies; language and contact; comparative indigeneities; micro and macro contexts of language use within indigenous communities; American Indian languages (particularly the Athabaskan, Kiowa-Tanoan and Uto-Aztecan phyla); Germanic languages; indigenous North America; American southwest; indigenous Scandinavia (particularly the Inari and Sami indigenous groups); Northern Europe

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    vmbelletto@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Marisa Berwald

    Contact Information

    Email    marisaberwald@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Katelyn J. Bishop

    Zooarchaeology, avian fauna, ritual, animal symbolism, new world domestication, feasting, social complexity, ethnoarchaeology, US Southwest, Mesoamerica, Maya archaeology, Pacific Coast of Mexico, collections-based research

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    kjbishop@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Molly Josette Bloom

    Disability; wheelchair athletes; supercrips; masculinity; the body; language; multimodality; conversation analysis; United States; Morocco

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    mjbloom@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Bradley Cardozo

    Climate justice; environmental justice; anthropology of climate change; sustainability & resilience; political & postcolonial ecology; race & ethnicity; gender & sexuality; religion; Southeast Asia; Philippines; Indonesia

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    bcardozo@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 360
  • Hannah Carlan

    Language and gender; multilingualism; developmental NGOs; semiotics; Hindi and English; New Delhi and Himachal Pradesh, India

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    hannahcarlan@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Courtney Cecale

    Environmental anthropology; political ecology; critical geography; impacts of melting tropical glaciers on life in La Cordillera Blanca

    Subfield: Psychological & Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    c.cecale@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 314
  • Spencer Chen

    Contact Information

    Email    scchen0918@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Edward Clint

    Evolutionary medicine; evolution of defensive hyperthermia (fever); sexual dimorphism in spatial ability

    Subfield: Biological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    eclint@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Misa Dayson

    Media and visual anthropology; Diaspora studies; German Studies; cultural production; space; place; race; and memory

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    mdayson@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Hadi Deeb

    Legal anthropology; transformations in models of authorship, ownership, and intellectual property; legal interactions in appellate courts

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    hdeeb@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Mercedes Douglass

    Performance/verbal artistry; education and local governance systems; NGOs, participatory politics, and democracy; language socialization; multimodal communication; Latin America and the Caribbean

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology and Medical Anthropology 

    Contact Information

    Email    mercedesdouglass@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Rosalie Edmonds

    Contact Information

    Email    redmonds@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Scarlett Eisenhauer

    Contact Information

    Email    seisenhauer@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Alejandro Erut

    Contact Information

    Email    alejandro.erut@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Anthony Estes

    Awareness of others, energy, inner states, in group meditation; Zen, mindfulness, and non-professional psychotherapeutic process, qigong, ESP, vulnerability and feelings, attraction; non-secular awareness and non-personal agency within ethnographic research; Taipei, Taiwan; Chinese and western self; Heidegger, Foucault, Peirce

    Subfield: Psychological Anthropology and Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    aestes@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Edwin Everhart

    Contact Information

    Email    eke@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Devin Flaherty

    Death and dying; the imagination; hospice; phenomenology; care; empathy; attention; sensorial anthropology; emotion; morality; narrative; language and interaction; place and the built environment; U.S. Virgin Islands

    Subfield: Psychological and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    devinflaherty [at] ucla [dot] edu
    Office 
  • Rachel Flamenbaum

    Language ideologies; codeswitching; language and new media; identity; Ghana and the Ghanaian diaspora; socialization of gustatory taste

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    rnflame@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Camille Frazier

    India and South Asia; food and agriculture in relation to gender; morality; nationalism; development and urbanization

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    c.frazier@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 360
  • Amy Garey

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    amgarey@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Irene Godoy

    Female reproductive strategies in capuchin monkeys; reproductive skew, kin recognition, inbreeding avoidance, birth seasonality, alloparenting, counterstrategies to infanticide

    Subfield: Biological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    godoy@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Yanina Gori

    Contact Information

    Email    yaninagori@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Roman Gratreaks

    Contact Information

    Email    rgratreaks@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 360
  • Devaka Gunawardena

    Free Trade Zones and export-oriented industry; rural-to-urban migration; the geopolitics of labor; anthropology of the state; political economy; Sri Lanka and South Asia

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    dgunawardena@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Aditi Halbe

    Contact Information

    Email    aditihalbe@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Kathryn Law Hale

    Cross-cultural perception of mental illness and pharmaceutical medications; family care and coping; clinical trials; biomedicine; embodiment; narrative; U.S.A.; Mexico

    Subfield: Psychological and Medical Anthropology; Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    halek@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Veena Hampapur

    Contact Information

    Email    
    Office 
  • Nafis Hasan

    Contact Information

    Email    nafishasan@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Jan David Hauck

    Language ideologies; language shift; language socialization; language endangerment and revitalization; linguistic politics; bilingualism; indigenous communities; hunter-gatherers; South-American lowland cultures; Paraguay

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    jan.d.hauck [AT] ucla [DOT] edu
    Office 
  • Brian Holguin

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    bholguin2021@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Claudia Huang

    Religious authenticity; post-authoritarian societies; tourism; globalism vs. localism; alternative moralities; China

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    cch4 ucla edu
    Office 
  • Clinton Humphrey

    Subfield: Psychological and Medical Anthropology; Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    clintcatalina@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Brittany Jackson

    Near Eastern Archaeology; Levant; prehistory; bioarchaeology; zooarchaeology; anthropology of food; social complexity; identity

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    bljackson@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Makeda Jarra

    Contact Information

    Email    m_jarra@hotmail.com
    Office 
  • Kotrina Kajokaite

    Life history strategies; dispersal; male migration; agent-based modeling; coalitionary aggression; social relationships; white-faced capuchins; Costa Rica

    Subfield: Biological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    kotrina@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Jananie Kalyanaraman

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    jananie@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Rayed Khedher

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    rayed@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Kelsey Kim

    Contact Information

    Email    kelseyckim@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Nicole Lannoy

    Environment; human-nature relations; settler colonialism; land use and value; sense of place; wilderness ideologies; urban anthropology; education; United States

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    nlannoy@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Queeny Lapena

    Contact Information

    Email    qlapena@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Emily Lucitt

    Ghost stories, personal narratives, subjectivity, the self, embodiment, history, hauntology, phenomenology, New England, Ireland

    Subfield: Psychological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    elucitt@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 360
  • Abigail Mack

    Habeas corpus; mental health law and psychiatry; therapeutic jurisprudence; morality/ethics; citizenship and personhood; empathy; narrative; language socialization; phenomenological approaches to anthropology

    Subfield: Psychological and Medical Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology 

    Contact Information

    Email    ajanemack@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Cassandra Markoe

    Contact Information

    Email    cmarkoe@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Tanya Matthan

    Contact Information

    Email    tanyamatthan@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Matthew McCoy

    Belfast; commemoration; security infrastructure, ethics and morality, colonial and postcolonial theory; theories of violence; political anthropology; folklore; phenomenology and philosophical anthropology; Husserl and Heidegger; Certificate in Experimental Critical Theory

    Subfield: Sociocultural and Psychocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    mcy@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Julia McLean

    Contact Information

    Email    mcleajul@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Reem Mehdoui

    Contact Information

    Email    reemmehdoui@yahoo.com
    Office 
  • Eva Melstrom

    Subfield: Psychological and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    emelstrom@g.ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Carolyn Merritt

    Contact Information

    Email    cmerritt@g.ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Teruko Vida Mitsuhara

    Multilingualism; children's peer-group socialization; religious migration and language contact; Russian, Bengali, and Spanish in West Bengal; Guru English, religious code and language enchantment, conversion, Gaudiya Vaishnavism, Hare Krishnas, India and U.S.

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    tmitsuhara (at) ucla (dot) edu
    Office  Haines 318
  • Jaden Netwig

    Contact Information

    Email    jnetwig@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Ryoko Nishijima

    Travel; Orientalism; imagination; transnational media; cyberspace; Japan-Asia; China/Taiwan; Japan-West

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    ryokon@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Molly Oringer

    Contact Information

    Email    mtoringer@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Dalila Ozier

    Contact Information

    Email    dalilaozier@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Agatha Palma

    Refugees, migration and immigration; race and racism; construction of blackness and whiteness; colonialism and memory; state violence; mass incarceration; critical geography; Italy, South Italy and the Mediterranean

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    aepalma@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Christopher Peterson

    Cognition and cultural transmission, evolutionary psychology, development, social learning, political and religious beliefs

    Subfield: Biological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    cdpeterson@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Sonya Rao

    Language rights and access; access to interpreters in immigration courts; language ideologies; language policy; political economy and linguistic labor; privatization of State enterprise; life histories; oral histories

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    sonyarao@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 360
  • Hannah Reiss

    Contact Information

    Email    hreiss@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Bonnie O. Richard

    Anthropology of children and youth; educational anthropology; medical anthropology; wellbeing; economic development; families and individualization; social change; parenting; childhood disability; mixed-methods; Ladakh & the Himalayas; Central Asia

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    brichard@ucla.edu
    Office  384 Haines
  • Clayton Robertson

    Corruption; economic anthropology; legal anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    ctrobertson@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Emily Rosen

    Contact Information

    Email    emilyjillrosen@GMAIL.COM
    Office 
  • Janell Rothenberg

    Global ports and shipping; infrastructure, urban planning and development; economic anthropology; space, place and the environment; science and technology studies; gender; the Middle East and North Africa

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    jrothenberg@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Theo Samore

    Contact Information

    Email    theo.samore@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Aidan Seale-Feldman

    Experience and its limits; imagination and virtuality; subjectivity and intersubjectivity; anthropology of contagion; “hysteria”; gender and women's studies; humanitarian psychiatry; ethnographic writing; Nepal

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology; Psychological and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    aidansf@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Ben Shepard

    Social organization and social change in middle-range societies; political economy of ritual; mortuary archaeology; history of archaeology; international collaboration in archaeology; prehistory of the Eurasian steppe; Lake Baikal, California, Northwest Coast of North America

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    benshepard@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • R.J. Sinensky

    Paleoethnobotany; American Southwest; environmental anthropology; human-environment relationships; anthropogenic ecology; early agriculture; low-level food producing societies; domestication; neolithic demographic transitions; cultural resource management; resilience theory; niche construction theory; indigenous archaeology

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    rsinensky@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Jonathan Sivan

    Judgment and decision-making; inference and rationality; morality; religion; coalitional psychology; mind and culture; human cooperation

    Subfield: Biological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    asivan@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Tyanna Slobe

    Identity; socioeconomic mobility; education; embodiment; multimodality; Los Angeles, California; Santiago, Chile

    Subfield: Linguistic Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    tyanna@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Andrew Smith

    Contact Information

    Email    andrewmsmith@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Mindy Steinberg

    Immigration; youth; family; Latin America; United States

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology; Psychological Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    mindysteinberg@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Christopher Stephan

    Intersubjectivity, empathy and the imagination; the built environment; models of health; reflections of value in design; folk and evidence based models of experience; transformative and healing experience

    Subfield: Psychological and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    c.stephan@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Scott Sunell

    Complex hunter-gatherers, household archaeology, craft production; California

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    sunell@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Anoush Suni

    Historical memory; ritual; space and place; materiality; built environment; ruins; Turkey

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    asuni@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Gwyneth Talley

    Evolution of equestrianism; women and gender in sports; leisure and sport; use of the body, cultural performance, spectacle, and display; intangible cultural heritage; falconry; human-animal relationships; visual anthropology; Morocco, Algeria, Libya

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    guj.talley@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Erin Thomason

    Emotional sentiments with the family; reconfigurations of kinship; attachment theory and critiques; grandparenting; love and care; migration and left-behind populations; rurality; China

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology and Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    ethomason@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Alexander Malcolm Thomson

    Contact Information

    Email    alexander.thomson@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Meher Varma

    Contact Information

    Email    meherv@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Samuel Weeks

    Urban ethnography; political economy; labor; popular culture; immigration; Creole languages; Portuguese; socio-linguistics; social geography; GIS; intellectual and political history; Cape Verde, Portugal, Lusofonia, Europe, Luxembourg, and West and Southern Africa

    Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    sweeks@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Madeleine Yakal

    Subfield: Archaeology

    Contact Information

    Email    madeleineyakal@gmail.com
    Office